MahaVidya The Ten Cosmic Powers

The Universe has a pyramidal vibratory structure.
Different worlds are placed on different levels. Each stratum has
a definite rate of vibration and expresses a definite level of consciousness.

At the top of this gigantic pyramidal structure there are certain Cardinal Energies (Vidya-s) called "Cosmic Powers" or "Goddesses", which have a paramount rolein creating, maintaining and reabsorbing the Cosmos. The disciplines that lead to the inner communion with these Cosmic Powers are known as Maha Vidya Yoga or Shri Vidya Yoga. These are the supremefundamental paths of profound knowledge and wisdom.

The Supreme Goddess, the Mother of the Universe, the essential femaleness is a dynamic Power which complements the stillness of Consciousness. Each female is a Shakti. She embodies and manifests the secret fundamental subtle forces which animate and control the Cosmos.

The traditional sequence of the ten Goddesses is:
The Power of Absolute Splendor

The Cosmos, With its visible and invisible worlds, as a Supreme Mother Goddess ( Parashakti ), which holds ultimate and omnipotent power over
the cosmic manifestation and over all creatures. The Ultimate
Consciousness ( Shiva ) is grasped through Shakti.

The Ten Great Feminine Cosmic Powers (Dasha Maha Vidyas)
are the ten fundamental aspects of the Supreme Cosmic Mother.
Each Goddess has a specific cosmic function in the universal harmony.

KALI - The Power of Time
and Darkness of Eternity

The Power of Void
and Darkness of Anger

The Power of Space and
of Perfect Realization
The Power of Death and
Darkness of Destiny

The Power of Sacrifice
and of Courage

AVATI - The Power
of Deprivation and
Darkness of Frustration

BAGALAMUKHI - The Power of Instantaneous Stopping

The Power of
Domination and The
Darkness of Illusion

The Power of Perfect Happiness and
darkness of Paradise

The cluster of the ten Maha Vidya-s reflects the dynamic unity of existence, in which all aspects of life - the darkest, the purest, the most forceful and the inert - are combined to form a whole, a vision of unity in diversity.

'The highest form of worship (Param Puja) is not offering flowers, etc., to any image, but it is the grasp of the true nature of the Deity as being the Self.It does not need any definite place or time: it is to be performed wherever and whenever possible'

Worship leads to spiritual knowledge, which imply the unification of subject and object. Maha Vidya Yoga consists in fact of ten different ways or paths of understanding ourselves and the Universe through identification with ten fundamental energies-consciousness of the Cosmos.The Supreme Being can be reached in anyone of these Cosmic centers of Power.

Time and the Kalchakra



Crystallotus Home | E-zine

Unauthorized reproduction is prohibited.