The Fifteen Nityas


The Nityas or Eternities of Lalita represent the fifteen lunar days or tithis of the waxing Moon. The full circle of the Nityas also represents the 21,600 breaths a human being takes in a full day and night.The Nityas are the The 15 Nityas are modifications of Lalita as red goddess with her three gunas and her five elements of ether, air, fire, water and earth. Each Nitya has her own mantra, yantra and group of energies (Shaktis).

The Upanishad says that the Human Body is to be conceived as the Sri Chakra, being the expression of one's own self. The Body is to be regarded as not different from the atma, the entire cosmic system associated with the body is also the same . This manifestation rests on Time, Space and a combination of the two.The 15 lunar tithis, are to be regarded as identical with the fifteen Nityas . The sixteenth Kala called Sadakhya should be viewed as one with Lalita or the Supreme Deity Herself. Lalita or Tripurasundari is the 16th day or full moon, with her 15 digits. the totality of rays of the whole circle being 108.

Kameshvari Nitya The first Nitya in the cycle is Kameshvari,
a name which means Lady of Desire.

Bhagamalini Nitya whose name refers to the flowering yoni, is the second
of the cycle of the waxing Moon.

Nityaklinna Nitya Her name means Wet Nitya, or Always Wet.

Bherunda the fourth Nitya, has three eyes and eight arms, with her body the colour of molten gold, wearing beautiful ornaments on her hands, feet, arms and around her waist. She smiles sweetly with her hands holding noose, goad, shield, sword, mace, thunderbolt (vajra), bow and arrow.

Vahnivasini Nitya is the sixth Nitya (Eternity) in the cycle, her name meaning the dweller in fire who devours the universe. She is the dweller in fire

Mahavajreshvari Nitya

Duti Nitya is an expansion of the Kalpasutras She is called Shivaduti
because she makes Shiva her messenger (Duti).

Tvarita Nitya is the ninth Nitya (Eternity) in the cycle. She is called Tvarita ("Swift") as She grants fruit to the sadhaka quickly. She is of auspicious form, in the first flush of youth, and dark in colour. She has 3 eyes and 4 hands and Her beautiful lotus- like face smiles gently.
Kulasundari Nitya comprise the Tripura bulb which is the united state of knower, knowledge and object of knowledge; the three humours of Vata, Kapha and Sleshma; and Fire, Sun and the Moon. Kulasundari is identical with Bala and placed in the Eastern lion-seat

Nitya Nitya Like the dawn sun, ruling the Shaktis of the bodily dhatus (Dakini, Shakini, Rakini &c),

Nilapataka Nitya means Sapphire Banner She is nila (sapphire) in hue with five faces and ten arms, wearing red clothes and beautiful gems. Her left hands show noose, banner, shield, horn bow, and the mudra granting gifts. Her right hands show goad, dart, sword, arrows and the mudra banishing fear

Vijaya Nitya She brings victory in battle and success in buying and selling, hence her name, Victorious.

Sarvamangala Nitya means "all auspicious" She has two arms and one head, sits on her lotus yantra and has eyes which represent the sun and the moon, while she smiles sweetly.
Jvalamalini Nitya means "garlanded with flames"

Chitra Nitya The last Nitya in the cycle is Chitra. Her name means variegated and she wears a silk garment of different colours, has four arms, one head and holds noose, goad, and shows the gestures granting boons and dispelling fears.


MahaVidya The Ten Cosmic Powers



Crystallotus Home | E-zine

Unauthorized reproduction is prohibited.